First Chakra :The Muladhara or Root Chakra

August 18, 2016
Muladhara or Root Chakra

What are Chakras ?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word which means wheel or a disk.

There are seven spinning wheels, inside all of us. They are aligned parallel to the spine, starting from the base of the spine to the crown of our head. Each chakra has certain qualities and associations.

What is the meaning of Muladhara Chakra ?

Mula means root and adhara means base or foundation.

Where does Muladhara Chakra reside?

The muladhara or root Chakra is located at the base of the spine in the perineal space for men, at the back and top of the cervix for women.

What is the Appearance of Muladhara Chakra?

Muladhara or Root Chakra

Muladhara or Root Chakra Source

This chakra is often represented by yellow, square lotus. The lotus is surrounded by eight shining spears on the sides and with four red petals at its corners.

The four Sanskrit syllables Va, Scha, Sha and Sa are written in gold on the four red petals representing the four Vrittis(tendencies). The four Vrittis are namely happiness, natural pleasure, delight in controlling passion and blissfulness in concentration.

More information on Muladhara or Root Chakra

The dormant kundalini Shakti is represented by serpent within this chakra.

It is also believed that Muladhara is the base from which the three main psychic channels or nadis emerge: the Ida, Pingala and Sushumna.The Muladhara chakra is a subtle abode of the Hindu God, Ganapati. And in the highest revered prayer for Ganapati, the Ganapati Atharvashirsha, it is mentioned that “one who worships Lord Ganapati would easily grasp the concept and realise Brahman”. Source

Muladhara or root Chakra is an important chakra since it is the foundation of the energy body or Pranamaya kosha .  It is always suggested that while doing any asana or pranayama, one should focus on the Muladhara as it makes us stable.

Kundali awakening starts from here. It is the seat of red bindhu (dot) that rises up to the white bindhu in head to unite Shiva and Shakti (masculine and female power respectively)

The element associated with the root or muladhara chakra is the Earth.

The sense of smell and action of excretion are associated with this Chakra.

The functions associated with this Chakra are grounding and survival.

The color associated with this Chakra is RED.

The mantra associated with this Chakra is LAM and can also be activated by chanting this Mantra. It is said that if a person chants the Seed Mantra of Muladhara Chakra for more than 100,000,000 times can attain all the Siddhis of the Muladhara Chakra.

When the Muldhara chakra is blocked, one will experience problems like weight issues, hemorrhoids, constipation, sciatica, knee pain, mental or psychological instability, unstable regarding basic needs, the inability to focus, manifest, or achieve goals. Infact, it might start with lower back  pain and sciatica issues.

Also, if you experience confusion and distraction this is an indication that this CHAKRA is not working properly.Temper tantrums and angst are typical signs that your first CHAKRA is blocked.

When the Chakra is strong, your physical health is at its best. There is prosperity and trust. One is practical and organized in life, if the Chakra is grounded.

Yoga poses for Muladhara Chakra

The following poses are practiced to open the Muladhara Chakra

  • Downward facing Dog

    Downward facing dog for Muladhara or Root Chakra

    Downward facing dog for Muladhara or Root Chakra

  • Sukasana or Seated Pose

    Sukhasana for Muladhara or Root Chakra

    Sukhasana for Muldahara or Root Chakra

  • Janu Sirasana

    Janu sirasana for Muladhara Chakra

    Janu sirasana for Muladhara Chakra

  • Balasana

    Balasana for Muladhara or Root Chakra

    Balasana for Muladhara or Root Chakra

You Might Also Like


  • Reply Sapana August 20, 2016 at 12:59 am

    very interesting theory. Amazing to know the meaning of the Muldhara Chakra.
    Sapana recently posted…9 Recipes For Protein Shakes Made From BerriesMy Profile

  • Reply shweta August 30, 2016 at 4:20 pm

    It is such a wonderful post…so interesting and informative…loved reading it…would you capture other chakras too?

    • Reply yogafreak August 30, 2016 at 9:05 pm

      Thanks Shweta. Sure, I will be writing about other Chakras also.

    Leave a Reply

    CommentLuv badge